Nominations for Nordic Council Film Prize 2009

Five Nordic films have been announced for the 2009 Nordic Council Film Prize.

The prestigious film award worth DKK 350.000 [€47.000] is shared between the director, the scriptwriter and the producer. The winner of The Nordic Council Film Prize 2009 will be announced on October 21st.  

The prize is given every year by the Nordic Council who awards a Literature Prize, a Music Prize, a Film Prize and a Nature and Environment Prize. The purpose of the prizes is to raise interest in the literature, language, music and film of the neighboring Nordic countries and abroad.



Full list of the award candidates:  

Antichrist, director Lars von Trier, scriptwriter Lars von Trier, producer Meta Louise Foldager, production company Zentropa.

Sauna, director AJ Annila, scriptwriter Iiro Küttner, producers Tero Kaukomaa, Jesse Fryckman, production company Bronson Club.

The Amazing Truth about Queen Raquela, director Olaf de Fleur Johannesson, scriptwriters Olaf de Fleur Johannesson and Stefan Schaefer, producers Olaf de Fleur Johannesson, Stefan Schaefer, Helgi Sverrisson, Arleen Cuevas, production company Poppoli Pictures.

North (Original Title – Nord), director Rune Denstad Langlo, scriptwriter Erlend Loe, producers Sigve Endersen, Brede Hovland, production company Motlys.

Light Year (Original Title – Ljusår), director Mikael Kristersson, scriptwriter Mikael Kristersson, producer  Lisbet Gabrielsson,  production company Lisbet Gabrielsson Film AB.