State Secretaries of the Baltic and Nordic Foreign Ministries to Meet in Tallinn

The annual meeting of State Secretaries of the eight Baltic and Nordic countries (NB8) will be held  in Tallinn, 20-21 October,2014.  The meeting will cover the topics related to cooperation among the countries of the region, security, developments in Ukraine, the Eastern Partnership, and the energy sector. The State Secretaries will also talk about matters of current importance in the international politics, including developments in Iraq, Syria, the Middle East. Estonia, being the NB8 coordinating country in 2014, has assigned priority to cyber cooperation, the Eastern Partnership, and cooperation in the energy and security. Next year, Denmark will become the coordinator for NB8 cooperation.

The informal NB-8 format brings together the three Baltic states and the Nordic countries – Denmark, Iceland, Finland, Norway and Sweden. NB-8 cooperation is characterized by a regular political dialogue amongst government officials and by practical cooperation, annually reviewed to set directions for further work. Regular meetings within the NB-8 format provide an opportunity for the Baltic and Nordic government officials, at both the Heads of State and at the expert level, to address matters of importance for their countries and the region. For further information on the Estonian chairmanship and coordinating functions in the NB8 and other Baltic Sea Region formats, visit the Estonian MFA’s Baltic Sea Year website. (

The information source: the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republik of Latvia