On 2 and 3 September, 2015 the annual meeting of the Nordic-Baltic Eight (NB8) Foreign Ministers was held in Copenhagen, Denmark, which addressed the security environment in the region and issues currently on the European agenda. A joint statement by the Baltic and Nordic Foreign Ministers on regional security was adopted at the meeting given that the Nordic and Baltic States are still encountering changes in the security environment caused by Russia’s aggression in Ukraine. The response to these challenges shall require national, regional and international efforts including further strengthening of cooperation between the Baltic and Nordic states in the field of security.
Nordic-Baltic Eight or NB8 is a regional co-operation format that includes Sweden, Finland, Norway, Iceland, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. Under NB8, regular meetings are held of the Baltic and Nordic countries' Prime Ministers, Speakers of Parliaments, Foreign Ministers, branch ministers, Secretaries of State and political directors of Foreign Ministries, as well as expert consultations where regional issues and current international topics are reviewed.

Other news